Joe Thomas and Darrelle Revis Among the Eligible First Year Pro Football Hall of Fame Players – ProFootballTalk

Getty Images

Nine players in their first year of eligibility were inducted into the list of 129 modern-day nominees for the 2023 Professional Football Hall of Fame category.

The first-year players, who all retired five years ago, were offensive lineback Joe Thomas, cornerback Daryl Reeves, backing Chris Johnson, linebacker Gary Evans, linebacker Dwight Freney, linebacker Navuro Bowman, linebacker James Harrison, defensive line. The return of Cam Counsellor and Resistance, Shane Lechler.

The Hall of Fame selection committee will vote for 25 semifinalists in November and then 15 finalists, up to five of whom can be selected for the 2023 class. The selection committee will also have four more up or down: Don Correll, Finalist coach, seniors Joe Clico, Chuck Hawley, and Ken Riley.

Below is a full list of 129 players, with an asterisk * to denote the 10 players who made it to the finals last year but were not ultimately voted into the Hall of Fame.

Back quarter (6): Randall Cunningham, Jake Dilum, Jeff Garcia, Dave Craig, Donovan McNab, Steve McNair.

Running back (17): Sean Alexander, Mike Alstott (FB), Tiki Barber, Larry Centers (FB), Cory Dillon, Eric Dunn, Eddie George, Reverend Holmes, Stephen Jackson, Chris Johnson, Fonta Leach (FP), Jamal Lewis, Lorenzo Neal (FB), Eric Metcalfe (also WR/PR/KR), Fred Taylor, Ricky Waters, Brian Westbrook.

Wide Receivers (20): Anquan Boldin, Troy Brown (also PR/KR), Donald Driver, Henry Ellard (also PR), Irving Fryar, *Devin Hester (also PR/KR), *Tori Holt, Joe Horn , Chad Johnson, Andre Johnson, Derek Mason, Mohsen Muhammad, Andre Rison, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith, Steve Smith Sr., Heinz Ward, Reggie Wayne, Wes Welker, Roddy White.

Tight Ends (3): Dallas Clark, Ben Coates, Wesley Walls.

Forwards (21): Willie Anderson (T), Matt Burke (centre), Lomas Brown (T), Robin Brown (J), Jahry Evans (J), De Bricacho Ferguson (T), Kevin Glover (C/G) , Jordan Gross (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Nick Mangold (C), Logan Mankins (G), Tom Nalin (C), Nate Newton (G/T), Jeff Saturday (C), Mark Schliereth (G/T) C), Chris Snee (G), Joe Thomas (T), Brian Waters (G), Richmond Webb (T), Eric Williams (T), Steve Wisniewski (G).

Defense Line (14): John Abraham (Germany, also LB), *Jared Allen (Germany), Dwight Frene (Germany), Larroy Glover (DT/NT), Casey Hampton (DT/NT), Robert Mattis (Germany) , Leslie O’Neill (Germany), Simeon Rice (Germany), Clyde Simmons (DE/DT), Justin Smith (Germany), Neil Smith (Germany), Justin Toke (Germany), Vince Welfork (DT/NT), Kevin Williams ( DT/DE).

LINEBACKERS (17): Jesse Armstead, Cornelius Bennett, Navoro Bowman, Lance Briggs, Chad Brown, Teddy Brushi, James Farrier, London Fletcher, James Harrison, Seth Joyner, Willie McGinst (also from Germany), Takeo Spikes, Pat Swelling (also DE)), *Zack Thomas, *DeMarcus Weir, *Patrick Willis, Al Wilson.

Defensive Back (19): Eric Allen (CB), Ronde Barber (CB/S), Dre Bly (CB), Cam Chancellor (S), Nick Collins (S), Antonio Cromarte (CB), Merton Hanks (S) ), Rodney Harrison (small), Albert Lewis (CB), Terry McDaniel (CB), Tim McDonald (small), Daryl Reeves (CB), Ellen Rossum (CB), Ashanti Samuel (CB), Bob Sanders (small), Charles Tillman (CB), Troy Vincent (CB), Adrian Wilson (s), Darren Woodson (s).

PUNTERS/KICKERS (10): Gary Anderson (K), Jason Elam (K), Jeff Feggles (P), Jason Hanson (K), John Kasai, (K), Sean Landita (P), Shane Lechler (P); Ryan Longwill (K), Pat McAfee (F), Matt Turk (F).

Special Teams (2): Josh Krebs (KR/PR also WR), Brian Mitchell (KR/PR also RB).

#Joe #Thomas #Darrelle #Revis #Among #Eligible #Year #Pro #Football #Hall #Fame #Players #ProFootballTalk

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.